الجزائر

القضايا ذات الأولوية

  • العدل
  • حقوق المرأة
  • الحق في الصحة
  • بناء القدرات

بدأت البرنامج: 2004

بعد مرور أكثر من عشر سنوات على الحرب الأهلية الوحشية – التي ظلت تنهش البلاد طيلة عقد كامل، فراح ضحيتها 200,000 جزائري، فضلاً عن اختفاء 7000 آخرين – ما زال على الجزائر أن تتعامل مع الصدمات التي خلفها ماضيها القريب. كانت الحكومة قد أصدرت عفوًا عامًا عن مرتكبي الانتهاكات إبان الحرب، ولكن النظام لا يبدي أي تسامح على الإطلاق تجاه أي انتقادات لسجله في حقوق الإنسان. كذلك فإن رفع حالة الطوارئ في 2011، بعد 19 عامًا من تطبيقها، أعقبه إصدار قوانين جديدة تقيد حرية الصحافة، والتجمع، والأحزاب السياسية، فضلاً عن التحرش المنتظم بالنشطاء وتوقيفهم بتهم ملفقة.
ولكن، رغم تلك القيود الشديدة، ما زالت هناك حفنة من النشطاء الشجعان المستمرين في البحث عن الحقيقة والعدل، والدفع في اتجاه التغيير الديمقراطي.

استراتيجيتنا

لا يستطيع العمل في الجزائر سوى حفنة صغيرة من منظمات حقوق الإنسان. لذلك، تمثلت استراتيجية الصندوق في توفير شريان حياة لمجتمع حقوق الإنسان المستقل الصغير القائم في البلاد، كما فعلنا لسنوات في تونس المجاورة. ويمثل ممنوحونا عائلات من فقدوا أو قتلوا؛ فتلك العائلات تسعى للحصول على معلومات وعدالة من حكومة مصرة على أن تصم آذانها عن تلك الفظائع. ويطالب ممنوحونا، كذلك، بحماية أفضل للنساء، وإنهاء التمييز ضد المصابين بفيروس نقص المناعة المكتسب / الإيدز. وحيثما تعامت الحكومة، لم ينفك النشطاء الذين ندعمهم يخلقون ضغطًا دوليًا يجبر الحكومة على التحرك. كذلك نساعد ممنوحينا الذين يعانون للعمل في البيئة الجزائرية الصعبة، حيث ندعم جهود بناء التحالفات والقدرات، وبناء القدرة على مواجهة المعوقات البيروقراطية والقانونية.

ناصرة ديتور أم أحد “المختفين” في الجزائر. في يناير 1997، غادر ابنها أمين، ابن العشرين سنة آنذاك، المنزل لشراء فطائر للعشاء، ولكنه لم يعد منذ ذلك الحين. منذ اختفاء أمين، كرست الأم حياتها لكسر الصمت المحيط بمصير ابنها ومصير آلاف أمثاله، اختفوا أثناء الحرب. يمكنكم الاستماع لرواية ناصرة وكيف حولت ألم مأساتها الشخصية إلى حركة من أجل العدل، على هذا الرابط.

Photo: UN Photo/Milton Grant

Algeria

Priority Issues

  • Justice and rule of law
  • women’s rights
  • health rights
  • capacity building

Began Program: 2004

More than ten years after a brutal, decade-long civil war ravaged the country, leaving nearly 200,000 dead and at least 7,000 disappeared, Algeria has yet to grapple with the traumas of its recent past. The government granted widespread amnesty to perpetrators of the war’s abuses, and the regime has zero tolerance for criticism of its human rights record, past or present. The lifting of a 19-year state of emergency in 2011 was swiftly followed by new laws restricting freedom of the press, association, and political parties. Activists are regularly harassed and arrested on trumped up charges.

In this extremely restrictive context, there nevertheless exist a handful of courageous activists who continue to seek truth and justice and promote democratic change.

Our Strategy

Very few human rights organizations are able to operate in Algeria. The Fund’s strategy has been to provide a lifeline for the small independent human rights community that exists, much as we did for years in neighboring Tunisia. Our grantees represent families of those disappeared or killed; these families are seeking information and justice from a government determined to brush aside such atrocities. Our grantees are demanding better protections for women, and an end to discrimination against people living with HIV/AIDS. Where the state has turned a blind eye, the activists we support relentlessly generate international pressure that has compelled the government to act. We also help grantees grappling with Algeria’s challenging environment—supporting efforts to build coalitions, capacity, and the ability to confront bureaucratic and legal obstacles.

Nassera Dutour is the mother of one of Algeria’s “disappeared.” In January 1997, her son Amine, twenty-years-old at the time, left home to buy pastries for the evening’s meal. He never returned. Since her son’s disappearance, she has devoted her life to shattering the silence surrounding the fate of her son and those of thousands of others who vanished during the war.